Devotional Thursdays – “Inspiration – Finding God In The Small Things…”

Thursday, March 24th, 2016
“Inspiration – Finding God In The Small Things…”

God always speaks to us in that loud, booming voice that we know so clear!
God’s voice is always understood, for He never talks so low we need to pay extra attention…
God works in giant, shocking occurrences so we know He is there…

Wait, what? I’m worrying myself at this point… Scratch that idea – let’s try again, eh?
Maybe the second time is the charm! 😀

image

((“Photo Used With Permission From,Photos By Aerykah.”))

** Zechariah 4:10 ** 
For who hath despised the day of small things? for they shall rejoice, and shall see the plummet in the hand of Zerubbabel [with] those seven; they [are] the eyes of the LORD, which run to and fro through the whole earth.

When I went to write this devotion, a particular story seemed to dawn on me…

A couple years ago, my brother got married, and what a beautiful thing that wedding was!
I was so excited to be the bridesmaid, and still, quite nervous…
However, before I start rambling on all the hilarious, fun, sweet, and adorable moments of the wedding, I must bypass all those stories for yet another day.

What I want to talk about here, is a small occurrence, that would be overlooked by many, but still remembered, oh so carefully, by me…

Flowers were carefully tied together with colorful bows, and ribbons, for each of the bridesmaids.
I just loved mine, for after all, it was with me through all the anxiety stricken stress that filled me through the wedding! 😛
Later, after the wedding, and reception, and all the fun endowed, I went to find my flowers, and other belongings.
However, the more I looked, the more confused I became, because they seemed to had vanished!
It may of seemed silly to others, but these flowers meant so much to me… I had planned to keep that as a memento of the day my brother had gotten married…
And sadly, those flowers didn’t want to cooperate…
I remember praying the whole time, hoping that no one had carried them off.

I kept looking, until my now, new sister, asked what I was searching so fiercely for. When I told her, her face suddenly turned a shade of white, that would really resemble that of a ghost.
She then told me she was sorry, that she didn’t know it meant that much to me, for they had put all the flowers together, to throw for the flower toss.
I was saddened, but I was not about to let her, nor any of the other happy people know my worry —
So, I smiled, and told her that it was no problem at all…

I soon found my other belongings, and grabbed my other clothes from the bathroom shelf.
I heard something plop down behind me… And turned, to see my flowers, lying there!
I will not relay all the crazy cheering, and thanking the Lord I did, for really, that’d take too long! 😛

image

(Hehe, yes, those are the flowers of the story!)

Sometimes, I think we get hung up looking for the large, extravagant gifts God gives us, and forget that sometimes, the small things are what gives us pleasure!

Solomon, the wisest, and richest of kings, told us that out of all he had, he had found joy most in being with his family, eating and talking!
(Ecclesiastes 3:13)

Within this life, full of heartache, unknown plans, and bitter thoughts, we want the latest, greatest thing that makes us smile!
And yet, when we find that small miracle, do we notice it – or rather, do we scoff and think back to our other issues at hand…

My mind has been a little hectic for the past week, especially, but even though God hasn’t answered my present requests, doesn’t mean He is not aware!
The Lord is nigh unto those that are of a broken spirit (Psalms 34:18); He always listens, for He cares, and sometimes all we need… All we need, is to find the small things, to realize God is there!

image

Just look – and He will be there!

Thanks so much for reading, and I would love to know your thoughts below! Have any small miracles that are present in your memory? Have any prayer requests, or things you’d like to share?
I’d absolutely love to hear them!! 😀

With lots of prayers, and love!

For other reference on small things, check out these sermon notes from Charles Spurgeon!

(They really inspired me!)

(God is there!)
Jesus loves you!

For Jesus first loved me… ❤

~M.K.

6 thoughts on “Devotional Thursdays – “Inspiration – Finding God In The Small Things…”

    • Hehe, I sure did! Most welcome! 😀
      Ah, gotcha! Haha, I pray I can, after all, inspiring people is my dream! 😛
      I just figured I’d follow, just in case you decide to write something, absolutely amazing! 😀
      Aws, thanks so much!!!!
      Love you too, my friend! ❤
      Blessings and care,
      ~M.K.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I like a lot of your posts but this is one of my favorites so far because I’m reading it at a time when I needed such a reminder.

    I’ve been extremely busy the past few days and at times there was no time alone with the Lord, only a whispered prayer while still on the job, and have just enough strength to whisper few words of thank you to the Lord before sleep.

    Who knows, maybe the post was written for such a opportune reminder to someone like me, halfway around the world at a time when they are too busy, to see God in everything – in drinking a glass of water, in a smile from a stranger, and even in a lost & found bouquet of flowers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, well I’m so honored to hear it. Your comment absolutely made my day! To know God is using something like this, and making it meaningful to you means the world. 😀

      I understand the feeling; life can keep us sure busy. Haha, certainly! 😉 He is a BIG God, who can touch is with the small things. Great blessings I pray for you, my friend!

      Like

Leave a comment